Our History

The Catholic Church in Lusaka Archdiocese.

In 1927 after five (5) other mission stations were established and Christianity had taken better roots, the whole Southern part of Zambia was established as the Prefecture Apostolic of Broken Hill (Kabwe) under Fr. Bruno Wolnik, SJ. as the Prefect Apostolic. From it the Prefecture Apostolic of Livingstone was detached in 1936, and in 1938 the Prefecture Apostolic of Ndola. In 1946 the Headquarters of the Prefecture were transferred from Broken Hill to Lusaka and its name changed to the Prefecture Apostolic of Lusaka. Fr. Adam Kozlowiecki, SJ was appointed Administrator of the Vicariate, to become its Vicar Apostolic in 1955.

On 25th April, 1959 the dioceses were established in Zambia. Lusaka became Archdiocese, and the Vicar Apostolic, Adam Kozlowiecki, SJ became the first Archbishop of Lusaka. The last partition of the territory of the Archdiocese of Lusaka was effected in 1962 when the territory of the Southern Province belonging to the Archdiocese was erected into a separate Diocese of Monze. In 1969 Archbishop Adam Kozlowiecki, SJ desirous to pass the Capital’s Office to a Zambian Priest resigned. His resignation was accepted and Archbishop Emmanuel Milingo was appointed the Archbishop of Lusaka. He was recalled to Rome in April 1982. Until the appointment of a new Archbishop for Lusaka, the Archbishop of Kasama, Elias Mutale, was in charge of the Archdiocese as its Apostolic Administrator (initially as sede plena and later as sede vacante).

In January 1984 Archbishop Adrian Mung’andu, was transferred from the Diocese of Livingstone and appointed to lead the Archdiocese. He governed the Archdiocese till 15th March, 1997, when Archbishop Medardo Joseph Mazombwe succeeded him. Archbishop Mazombwe retired on 28th October 2006 and was succeeded by Archbishop Telesphore George Mpundu who until then had been Coadjutor Archbishop of Lusaka Archdiocese from the time he took canonical possession of the Office on 21st November 2004. On 28th October 2006, he took over as Archbishop of Lusaka Archdiocese.