Our Story

[slz_main_title style=”style-1″ subtitle=”A True Catholic Experience.” title=”Welcome To The Archdiocese Of Lusaka”]

In spite of all difficulties, the missions of the Jesuits north of the Zambezi became so well established that by 1927 the whole southern part of Zambia was detached from the Zambezi Mission in Salisbury (now Harare). The Pontifical Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples in Rome thus created a new Prefecture Apostolic, called Broken Hill on July 14, 1927. The headquarters moved from Katondwe to Broken Hill, now Kabwe. Fr. Bruno Wolnik, SJ was appointed as the first Prefect Apostolic.
In 1936 and 1938 the Prefectures Apostolic of Livingstone and Ndola were born respectively. They were detached from Broken Hill. By the middle of the 1930s Broken Hill was experiencing a recession. There was an industrial slump all over western world and its ripples were felt in the mining areas of Northern Rhodesia. For that reason, Bishop Wolnik moved his Episcopal capital from Broken Hill to Lusaka, and on June 13, 1946 it was renamed as Apostolic Prefecture of Lusaka.

On July 14, 1950 it was promoted as Apostolic Vicariate of Lusaka. On 25th April, 1959 Dioceses were established in Zambia. Thus, Apostolic Vicariate of Lusaka was promoted as Metropolitan Archdiocese of Lusaka. In 1962 also the territory in the southern part of Lusaka was detached and erected into a separate Diocese called Monze. Furthermore, on 29th October, 2011, the region in the northern part of Lusaka was detached and erected into a separate Diocese of Kabwe.
Currently, there are eleven (11) Dioceses in Zambia, namely: Kasama, Mansa, Mpika, Ndola, Solwezi, Mongu, Monze, Livingstone, Kabwe, Chipata and Lusaka itself. Furthermore, Lusaka is a Metropolitan Archdiocese, Primatial See of Zambia and has the following Suffragan Sees: Chipata, Livingstone, Mongu, Monze, Kabwe, Ndola and Solwezi.

As its first Prefect Apostolic, Bruno Wolnik, S.J. served from 1946 to 1950. After, Fr. Adam Kozlowiecki S.J. (later Cardinal) become Apostolic Administrator from 1945 to 1955, and Archbishop from 1955 to 1959. He resigned on 29th May, 1969 and died on 28th September, 2007. He was followed by Archbishop Emmanuel Milingo from 1969 to 1983. Archbishop Elias White Mutale of Kasama Archdiocese took over as Apostolic Administrator when Archbishop Milingo was recalled to Rome, from 1983 to 1984. He was succeeded by Archbishop Adrian Mung’andu, who was transferred from Livingstone Diocese. He administered it from 1984 to 1997. He died on 25th June, 2007. In 1997 Archbishop Medardo Joseph Mazombwe, created Cardinal on 20th October, 2010, took over up to 2006.He had been Bishop of Chipata Diocese till then. Archbishop Telesphore George Mpundu, former Bishop of Mpika, made Coadjutor of Lusaka on October 1, 2004 was Archbishop from October 28th, 2006 to May 14th 2018 and now the Emeritus after asking for an early retirement. Archbishop Dr Alick Banda consecrated Bishop of Solwezi on 29th July, 2007 then appointed Co-Adjutor Bishop of Ndola on the 13th November, 2009 and installed as the fifth Bishop of Ndola on the 13th February, 2010. He was appointed Archbishop of Lusaka on 30th January, 2018 and installed 14th May 2018 as the sixth Archbishop of the Metropolitan Archdiocese of Lusaka.

[slz_main_title style=”style-1″ subtitle=”All creation will be able to separate us that is in Jesus Christ our Lord.” align=”center” subtitle_color=”#ffffff” title=”Upcoming Event” title_color=”#ffffff”][slz_event_block layout=”layout-4″ limit_post=”1″ offset_post=”0″ description_display=”hide” list_category=”%5B%7B%7D%5D”]